Support For Wine Bottle Cake?

Decorating By napa Updated 1 Mar 2011 , 9:26am by napa

napa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
napa Posted 28 Feb 2011 , 9:30am
post #1 of 7

Hi,

Wondering if someone could help me please. I am very new to cake making so practising lots by making cakes for family. My sister has asked me to make a cake for her boyfriend and she saw some pictures on cake central of a wine bottle lying in a box type of cake that I am going to try. I am doing the cakes seperately - the wine bottle cake is carved and covered in fondant, then the box is basically a rectangle covered in fondant. I am then going to put the bottle on top of the box.

My question is do I need to put support in. Should I put the wine bottle cake on a cake card? Should I put dowels in the rectangular cake under the wine bottle? In terms of size, the bottle cake is exactly the same size as a real bottle, but in half lengthways! And the box underneath is about 1 inch bigger around the bottle and 2 inches high, with one layer of filling.

Thanks very much for any help!

6 replies
napa Posted 28 Feb 2011 , 11:45pm
post #2 of 7

Can anyone help please?

Thank you

yates77 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
yates77 Posted 1 Mar 2011 , 12:27am
post #3 of 7

I have done a wine crate/bottle cake. The crate/box was all cake and the bottle itself was gumpaste and I used a real bottle as a form. So the bottle itself was hollow and very light and I just placed it on the cake with no support. If you are going to do the bottle in cake as well I would put a cake board under the bottle cake in the same shape and to be on the safe side I would also put dowels in the box cake under the wine bottle for support.

hollys_hobby Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hollys_hobby Posted 1 Mar 2011 , 12:43am
post #4 of 7

I made a wine crate cake, and made my bottle out of rice krispie treats. You can view it in my photos here.