Can You Transport A Stacked Cake?

Lounge By wiggler Updated 26 Feb 2011 , 6:53pm by Davwattie

wiggler Posted 26 Feb 2011 , 4:31pm
post #1 of 9

I am makeing a stacked cake for a family function next weekend . Its just a two tier cake 9" and 6" covered in fondant . I am using Wilton plastic dowels in the bottom layer . Can I stack the cakes before travelling
(about 1 hour away ) , or do I have to do it on site . This is my first time stacking a cake
Any help would be appreciated icon_confused.gif

8 replies
Darthburn Posted 26 Feb 2011 , 4:49pm
post #2 of 9

Yes you can. 2 teirs shouldn't be all that bad. Just no rough driving.

If you're super worried about it, you can drive a thin wood dowel down through the top center then cover the hole with a topper. But you should be fine.

LisaPeps Posted 26 Feb 2011 , 4:53pm
post #3 of 9

With a 2 tier so long as you support it correctly you'll have no issues transporting it stacked. For extra security, alot of people would recommend SPS system. I have never used it though.

wiggler Posted 26 Feb 2011 , 5:04pm
post #4 of 9

Thanks . I was afraid to chance it . Will just have to tell my hubbie to drive carefully !!

Darthburn Posted 26 Feb 2011 , 5:17pm
post #5 of 9

I think it was Indydebi on here that said it best:

Drive like you had a baby on top of your car.

If you want, you can "glue" the top on the bottom by putting a little piping gel or water or royal icing inbetween them (if it's fondant).

Some people don't like to glue them because it makes it harder to seperate the tiers at serving time.

icon_smile.gif

debster Posted 26 Feb 2011 , 6:08pm
post #6 of 9