1St Wedding Cake -Self Taught Amateur. Need Ideas!!

Decorating By Katieas9600 Updated 27 Feb 2011 , 8:19am by punita123

Katieas9600 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Katieas9600 Posted 25 Feb 2011 , 3:31pm
post #1 of 9

Hi all, I am making my 1st wedding cake. I need some ideas on the easiest thing to accomplish that won't look like crap. Can anyone show me pics and how-tos of the easiest wedding cake they have done?? I am looking to do 3 round tiers. Probably 12,10, & 8. I am struggling with smoothing BC and have covered 2 cakes in fondant but they always sag. i do fine with fondant cutouts though. I am thinking real flowers for decor because I can't make gumpaste ones. Maybe some ribbon on the bottom of the tiers. Any ideas or photos would be great. Thanks so much!

8 replies
Lcubed82 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lcubed82 Posted 25 Feb 2011 , 3:49pm
post #2 of 9

Do you have time to take some Wilton classes? that is where I started. Then lots of Cake Central and YouTube! And practice. There is no quick lesson for perfect cake decorating. (I wish!)

Sharon Zambitto (sp?) is supposed to have a wonderful DVD about buttercream and how to smooth. Edna also has a great video on YouTube.

The "simple" plain tiers with a ribbon around the bottom edge are usually a great place to start. ("Simple" in design, but you will have to practice your smoothing of BC!) You can purchase premade gumpaste flowers from various sources if you prefer that to silks. They usually come white, and you can color them as desired with dusts or coloring.

Good luck to you!

nicoles0419 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nicoles0419 Posted 25 Feb 2011 , 4:09pm
post #3 of 9

try smoothing you buttercream with a fondant smoother and viva papertowel, works every time for me. If you do ribbon make sure it has a wax coat on it so it doesnt get grease spots from the buttercream. Michaels sells premaid flowers, u could make buttercream roses

LillyCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile