Using Gumpaste Vs Fondant

Decorating By JerryCakes Updated 26 Feb 2011 , 3:16pm by kakeladi

JerryCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JerryCakes Posted 25 Feb 2011 , 3:13pm
post #1 of 6

icon_smile.gif I have been decorating for 45 years and have NEVER used fondant or
gumpaste. I don't know what hit me but I just got the idea that I should
and want to learn to use it. I am trying to teach myself. I have been
playing with the fondant and trying to make some roses. I tried a rose
cutter with the 5 petals that you just fold up around the bud, etc. then
I started to try and make them free hand just by shaping each petal
and wrapping them around a spiral center, etc. Sorry for making this
so long, but would it be easier to do with Gumpaste? I just ordered some
gumpaste (Satin Ice) online yesterday thinking that it would be easier
to make flowers with that. I am use to making all my flowers with royal
icing especially if for a wedding cake. In my mind from all I have seen
and read, I am looking at the fondant covering on the cake being like the
buttercream frosting and the flowers made of gumpaste being like the royal icing flowers. Is that kind of the difference?

5 replies
Moondance Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Moondance Posted 25 Feb 2011 , 5:46pm
post #2 of 6

Jerrycakes, you can make flowers from both fondant and gum paste - the difference is that the fondant once are softer and tend not to be so thin, whilst gumpaste can be rolled really thinly, making your petal really fine and fragile - makes a more delicate flower which you usually have to make on wire - then you can add leaves and arrange your flower display on your cake - you have to put the wired flowers into a 'flower pick' which is foodgrade and stops the wires touching your cake. Look at the picture in my gallery of the golden wedding cake - gumpaste flowers - and the 2 tier pink christening cake with the roses on the front - they are fondant

Good luck