What's Wrong With The Wilton Butter Cream Recipe?

Decorating By KarisCakes Updated 12 Oct 2013 , 1:39pm by cake topia

KarisCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KarisCakes Posted 22 Feb 2011 , 5:45pm
post #1 of 10

Hi all,
I am always seeing new recipes on here for different kinds of butter cream, I have always used the wilton recipe. It seems like no one else uses it.
1/2 cup solid vegetable shortening
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter or margarine softened
1 teaspoon clear vanilla extract
4 cups sifted confectioners' sugar (approximately 1 lb.)
2 tablespoons milk
- I add a teaspoon of salt.

It crusts well, and holds up well to stacking and being covered with fondant.
I really like it, so does my family, and my customers, but I am still new at this. Is there something that typically goes wrong with it, that I am am missing, maybe in larger cakes, or cakes that sit out like wedding cakes. I have a very large wedding cake coming up and am wondering if that will be the day I figure out why no one seems to use it. I hope not!

Any experience you have with this butter cream would be appreciated!

9 replies
q2wheels Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
q2wheels Posted 22 Feb 2011 , 5:52pm
post #2 of 10

I use the same recipe, always have, but have made a couple of changes...I use hi ratio shortening, I use boiling water, not milk and I add an extra 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla. Oh, and I only use real butter, salted, so I omit the salt.

I beat the dickens out of the shortening and butter for a good 15-20 minutes before adding anything else.

Everyone raves about my icing....it's a winner and I have never had trouble with it.

KarisCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KarisCakes Posted 22 Feb 2011 , 5:58pm
post #3 of 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by q2wheels