Charging A Client For Specialty Cutter?

Baking By OneCreativeCookie Updated 22 Feb 2011 , 8:48pm by OneCreativeCookie

OneCreativeCookie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
OneCreativeCookie Posted 21 Feb 2011 , 3:47pm
post #1 of 15

I have a client who would like a yoga pose cookie for her daughter's birthday cookies. Unfortunately, this shape is not widely available and what is available is very expensive ($12.95 + $6 shipping or set of 5 for $32+ shipping). I do not normally charge anything for cutters as I figure they become part of my arsenal of tools, however, I'm not sure that I would have enough market for a yoga pose cookie to justify spending my entire profit on a cutter.

I know I can hand-cut, but frankly, I'm not very good at it and I would have to charge my client for the extra time spent on the hand-cutting.

Has anyone charged a client for a specialty cutter? Did you charge the full price of the cutter or just a "specialty cutter" fee? Have you given them the cutter or kept it?

Thanks![/img]

14 replies
cakegirl1973 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakegirl1973 Posted 21 Feb 2011 , 3:59pm
post #2 of 15

I do not charge the customer for cutters, pans etc that I have to purchase to complete their order. I view it as a cost of doing business.

cakeandpartygirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakeandpartygirl Posted 21 Feb 2011 , 4:04pm
post #3 of 15

I wouldn't charge either unless you are going to give her the cutter after you have completed their order?

OneCreativeCookie Posted 21 Feb 2011 , 4:48pm
post #4 of 15

I completely agree in normal circumstances. Unfortunately, in this circumstance the cost of the cutter would be almost as much as the entire order of cookies (I don't think the order will be more than 12-18 cookies).