Alphabet Cutters

Decorating By kimboann Updated 23 Feb 2011 , 8:52pm by Ellie1985

kimboann Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kimboann Posted 21 Feb 2011 , 2:58pm
post #1 of 35

Ok this is my first post so be gentle. I am very new to cake making/decorating and need some help from those more experienced. I am not happy with my writing skills on cakes and really like the look of cutout letters/numbers. So which ones? I have found a Wilton set of cutters and also one by Ateco and then found some funky, fun Tappits but have no idea what they are. Please help.

34 replies
kimboann Posted 21 Feb 2011 , 3:06pm
post #2 of 35

So I see another forum on the same topic and am now wondering about purchasing Clikstix cutters. I should have looked before posting. Like I said I'm very, very new. I'll get it though.

cupcakecult1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cupcakecult1 Posted 21 Feb 2011 , 3:09pm
post #3 of 35

I use cookie cutters all the time for writing. I have ordered several different styles of the alphabet/number cutters online, ebay anywhere I can find unique lettering. Tappits are great, but you do need to practice with them. There are some wonderful Youtube videos that will show some great tips for using them. I also like to use the computer and print out what I want to say, cover with contact paper and then cut out of fondant with an exacto knife. This is good for making an exact logo of something. Hope that helps, good luck.

cupcakecult1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cupcakecult1 Posted 21 Feb 2011 , 3:12pm
post #4 of 35

I am also curious about the Clikstix cutters if anyone has used, I would love to hear there results.

Sugar_N_Spice_Cakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sugar_N_Spice_Cakes Posted 21 Feb 2011 , 6:21pm
post #5 of 35

I do not like the wilton ones.

Ellie1985 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Ellie1985 Posted 21 Feb 2011 , 6:43pm
post #6 of 35