What Is A Good Start On Getting Into Edible Images?

Decorating By utrwong Updated 5 May 2011 , 7:19pm by icingimages

utrwong Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
utrwong Posted 21 Feb 2011 , 4:50am
post #1 of 26

Hi guys! I am new to the world cake baking and decorating and it has been fun so far. I just took one class at a local Hobby Lobby and really enjoy it. But anyways, I have been doing this for about 3 months and now I want to get into creating edible images for cakes. I am trying to find the rights tools, materials, and information, and it is a bit over whelming for a newbie! So any advice or great pointers for beginners is welcome, because that is what I am. I read the articles about Edible Images & Edible Printers on Cake Central and that seems like a good source of info. However, I am torn between getting this kit that is being sold on this website called tastyfotoart (webpage: http://www.tastyfotoart.com/edible_ink_printer_and_kit.htm) or getting the componenents separately. It seems like there are those who are for wafter paper or frosted paper. The paper that is sold on tastyfotoart kit are wafer, but it seems like frosted is the better way to go. Also, the Canon printer that is being sold in the kit uses 4 ink cartridges which seems expensive to operate. I do not think I will be printing many images. I'll be lucky to get one a week. Any advice at all for this new baker/decorater? I would be happy to get a reply on how to go about this. I tend to take a few days before I make a big purchase, esepcially on a printer just for edible images! So any advice I would greatly appreciate it. icon_smile.gif

25 replies
icingimages Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
icingimages Posted 24 Feb 2011 , 9:41pm
post #2 of 26

Hi: