Making 6" Cookies

Baking By Staci71 Updated 19 Feb 2011 , 4:21pm by Staci71

Staci71 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Staci71 Posted 19 Feb 2011 , 3:39am
post #1 of 9

I would like to make some 6 inch or so cookies for my sons travel basketball league. I wanted to decorate then to look like baksetballs and then put each boys name on one, There are like 7 boys on the team.

So how do you suggest I go about this? Do I need a certain pan? a specific cutter? For example I have my 6 " wilton cake pan.. will that work? If so how much cookie dough do I use?

I am new to all this but thought it would be a fun treat for my son and his teamates... Thanks for all your help!

Staci

8 replies
Lcubed82 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lcubed82 Posted 19 Feb 2011 , 3:52am
post #2 of 9

I would probably either use a 6"cutter or hand cut around a 6" template. Place on cookie sheet and bake at lower heat, longer time.

Roll your sugar cookie dough out evenly (you can use roller rings, Dobord, wooden sticks, etc) before cutting.

Sounds like a fun project- big cookies!

Staci71 Posted 19 Feb 2011 , 2:00pm
post #3 of 9

I am sorry I wasn't super clear. I wanted to use chocolate chip cookie dough

and I tried it in my little 6" pan last night and it was llike a cake... lol I used a cup of dough. the next one I made was a big thinner I used a half a cup.. I just don't have a clue here HA

leily Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leily Posted 19 Feb 2011 , 2:06pm
post #4 of 9

for non sugar cookies i bake in my cake pans. I usually put enough dough in to be about the same height as a chocolate chip (it will rise a little as it bakes) And cook until it's done at the same temperature that the recipe calls for.

I also suggest lining your pan with parchment paper or wax paper so it's easier to get the cookie out and you odn't have to worry about it sticking to the pan.

Staci71 Posted 19 Feb 2011 , 2:31pm
post #5 of 9