Contemplating... But Need Advice!!

Business By kkswmmr114 Updated 22 Feb 2011 , 2:47pm by Yum2010

kkswmmr114 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kkswmmr114 Posted 18 Feb 2011 , 10:39pm
post #1 of 9

So I am currently a teacher. I am only in my second year so I am still new to it and am having the normal "first few years" difficulties. But I don't love what I do. When I am asked why I went into teaching... I can't answer. I just went into it because it was the only thing I could think to do. Before I wanted to be a teacher though I wanted to own my own bakery. I have always loved baking. I realized though that it would be a lot of work and I didn't know if I would still love it, or hate it because it was my job. I started getting into decorating about 5 years ago in college. I am now 23 and have become fairly good at decorating. I still have a lot to learn, but I think I am good enough to do it professionaly.

My dilemma is this: I currently hate my job. I don't get excited about teaching at all. I love doing cakes and when I have a weekend full of doing them I am stressed, but happy. I don't ever have anyone say anything bad about my cakes... and I have something go wrong with teaching every day. I guess I just feel like I am better at cakes than at teaching.

Here is my main question: When you own a business do you do more cakes or do you run a business?? I have been researching opening a cake shop but the only thing that bothers me is that I have no idea how to run a business. I want to decorate cakes. I don't want to sit in an office all day doing paperwork.

Any thoughts??

8 replies
metria Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
metria Posted 18 Feb 2011 , 10:54pm
post #2 of 9

are there not any custom cake shops in your area that you could apply at? there's a big difference between having a job and owning a business.

ninjacaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ninjacaker Posted 18 Feb 2011 , 11:10pm
post #3 of 9