How Do I Make Fondant People?

Decorating By CyndiLu Updated 18 Feb 2011 , 9:53am by Coral3

CyndiLu Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CyndiLu Posted 17 Feb 2011 , 11:41pm
post #1 of 6

Can someone please help me! I am trying to make fondant people, for a beach themed cake, and I would really appreciate it if anyone has any good tips or free tuturials. I am also interested in the clothing aspect of the fondant figures. Any help would be most appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Cyndi Lu

5 replies
lynn1968 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lynn1968 Posted 18 Feb 2011 , 12:10am
post #2 of 6

being a noob, i can only offer what little i know about the subject. last weekend the wife made some fondant, and while it was really good (for fondant), it was far too soft to ever shape into people let alone sculpt. i said it was like trying to sculpt water. the wilton fondant you buy at the store, which is terrible to eat (though i've heard they've changed the recipe, so maybe it's edible nowadaze), has a much firmer consistency. maybe you can get away with very basic figures using that, but i'm not sure i'd want to spend the money to find out from what i can recall of using it a couple of years back. maybe your recipe is firmer....

i think your best bet would either be gumpaste or modelling chocolate. i've watched about a billion and three tutorials on cake decorating on youtube, i'm sure there's something you can use there. about the clothing, i'd just probably paint them on, but i'm not sure what style of figure you're going for.

good luck, hope that helps a little bit. icon_smile.gif

Renaejrk Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Renaejrk Posted 18 Feb 2011 , 6:44am
post #3 of 6

If you add tylose to your fondant it will stiffen it and make it dry more quickly - it works more like gumpaste. I have only done a few figures, and am not very good at sculpting, so I don't know if my advice on that would be very helpful icon_smile.gif.