Cake Central Is Magic

Decorating By kimmisue2009 Updated 18 Feb 2011 , 4:53pm by cakeyouverymuch

kimmisue2009 Posted 17 Feb 2011 , 1:11am
post #1 of 11

This place is magic!!! I joined a couple of years ago - gonna take the cake world by storm. Long story short - not so easy.

BUT - instead of continuing (unsuccessfully) to copycat, I started reading tips and tricks. I am just a hobby baker, so nothing lost.

Tonight, I tried two "tricks." One, the "heat your oven to 400 degrees and then lower it to 350 when you put the cupcakes in" and I HAVE PERFECTLY DOMED CUPCAKES!

THEN, to add to the magic, I tried the "add a tiny bit of purple to your buttercream to take out the yellow tinge" and I HAVE BEAUTIFUL PALE BEIGEY WHITISH ICING.

Don't care how dorky it sounds. I am totally thankful for all the people on here who are willing to share their knowledge. I would take pics, but my kitchen looks like cake terrorists broke in.

Thank you magic people!!!

10 replies
NanaSandy Posted 17 Feb 2011 , 5:20am
post #2 of 11

I couldn't agree with you more!! And yes, caking is addicting!!

conchita Posted 17 Feb 2011 , 5:46am
post #3 of 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by kimmisue2009

This place is magic!!! I joined a couple of years ago - gonna take the cake world by storm. Long story short - not so easy.

BUT - instead of continuing (unsuccessfully) to copycat, I started reading tips and tricks. I am just a hobby baker, so nothing lost.

Tonight, I tried two "tricks." One, the "heat your oven to 400 degrees and then lower it to 350 when you put the cupcakes in" and I HAVE PERFECTLY DOMED CUPCAKES!

THEN, to add to the magic, I tried the "add a tiny bit of purple to your buttercream to take out the yellow tinge" and I HAVE BEAUTIFUL PALE BEIGEY WHITISH ICING.

Don't care how dorky it sounds. I am totally thankful for all the people on here who are willing to share their knowledge. I would take pics, but my kitchen looks like cake terrorists broke in.

Thank you magic people!!!