Pricing Your Cakes (Uk)

Baking By Abisnail Updated 18 Feb 2011 , 9:30pm by Abisnail

Abisnail Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Abisnail Posted 16 Feb 2011 , 3:18pm
post #1 of 4

Hi everyone, I'm quite new to the cakey scene and I'm really struggling with charging people for my cakes. I'm constantly feeling like I'm ripping people off! I charge around £45 for an 8" cake with a 3D topper, £50 if it's really detailed. My cupcakes, I'm charging £10-£15 per dozen. Thing is, I'm kinda getting peeved with spending 6 hours on a cake and then realising I've earnt about £3 an hour! I struggle with having any confidence in my work, I mean my cakes are not anywhere near as good as most on this site! But then, people are asking for cakes after seeing my work so they must think they're ok!
How did you start charging more for your cakes? Did you feel bad about it?
My other problem is that I always do cakes cheaper for friends and family, but most of my orders come from friends and family! :'(
I'm never going to be rich am I!

3 replies
Cakefield-cakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cakefield-cakes Posted 16 Feb 2011 , 7:07pm
post #2 of 4

Hi Abisnail,
Im currently having the same problem! so i will keep my eyes peel to see what feed back you get!

But your right about one thing if they have seen what you do before and they are ordering you must be"ok" lol

xx

taniabanana Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
taniabanana Posted 17 Feb 2011 , 9:09pm
post #3 of 4