Discount For More Cookies?

Baking By LoveMeSomeCake615 Updated 19 Feb 2011 , 7:39pm by OneCreativeCookie

LoveMeSomeCake615 Posted 14 Feb 2011 , 6:35pm
post #1 of 7

Hi, this is my first time posting on the cookie board, so forgive me if this has been asked before! I have a customer that wants a few dozen custom cookies decorated with Facebook symbols and "status updates". They sound like they would be pretty involved to do. I told her our price per custom cookie, and she asked if the price per cookie would be less since she was ordering a few dozen as opposed to a smaller amount. Would you charge less, or would it be the same price per cookie no matter how many they ordered? TIA!

6 replies
leily Posted 14 Feb 2011 , 7:24pm
post #2 of 7

a discount for a few dozen on custom cookies? I would have probably laughed at her on the phone (ok, maybe not out loud, but i would have in my head)

The only way someone gets a discount from me is if they are ordering a LARGE number, and large to me not them (like 20doz cookies that are not custom) and they are a standing order. either daily or weekly. 3 dozen cookies i can get out of one or two batches of my recipe. There is no cost savings for me buying ingredients to do one or two batches. Only when i get into A LOT more and i know that i can order in bulk.

leily Posted 14 Feb 2011 , 7:26pm
post #3 of 7

a discount for a few dozen on custom cookies? I would have probably laughed at her on the phone (ok, maybe not out loud, but i would have in my head)

The only way someone gets a discount from me is if they are ordering a LARGE number, and large to me not them (like 20doz cookies that are not custom) and they are a standing order. either daily or weekly. 3 dozen cookies i can get out of one or two batches of my recipe. There is no cost savings for me buying ingredients to do one or two batches. Only when i get into A LOT more and i know that i can order in bulk.

LoveMeSomeCake615 Posted 14 Feb 2011 , 10:20pm
post #4 of 7