1St Wedding Cake Jitters!

Decorating By Angelfire3 Updated 21 Feb 2011 , 11:39pm by Angelfire3

Angelfire3 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Angelfire3 Posted 12 Feb 2011 , 4:16pm
post #1 of 15

Greetings all,
One of my good friends begged me to make her wedding cake. She's getting married at the end of the month. I've never done one before. I'm afraid to do it. I'm not sure if I even want to do it b/c of my fear & lack of confidence. I'm not even sure how to do it. I've expressed all of my concerns to her. But she still wants me to do it. She said, "You can do it. I trust you." etc.

Is this how you felt the 1st time you've done a wedding cake? Did your 1st wedding cake come out good? What helped you jump in and say, "I know I can do this?"

14 replies
CookieD-oh Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CookieD-oh Posted 12 Feb 2011 , 4:41pm
post #2 of 15

I haven't yet done a wedding cake, but here's my take on it: If she is familiar with your work and she trusts you with her wedding cake, then she obviously loves what you do! Borrow a bit of her confidence in your ability and go for it! You'll do great! thumbs_up.gif

leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 12 Feb 2011 , 5:06pm
post #3 of 15

Use SPS for your support system and read, read, read. Also remember to take the proper paperwork with you to the venue.

leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 12 Feb 2011 , 5:07pm
post #4 of 15

Oh, and my first wedding cake was an assignment in culinary school, so I pretty much had to design it, do it and get it judged on schedule.

cakegirl1973 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakegirl1973 Posted 12 Feb 2011 , 5:25pm
post #5 of 15

My best advice is to make a practice cake ahead of time. That way, when it comes time to do the real thing, you have done the cake before. Also, plan your baking and decorating schedule ahead of time. Allow time to fix things and to problem solve, if needed. Good luck and have fun!