Using Toys On A Cake

Decorating By bohemiagetsajob Updated 13 Feb 2011 , 12:01am by bohemiagetsajob

bohemiagetsajob Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bohemiagetsajob Posted 12 Feb 2011 , 2:21am
post #1 of 9

I am making my son's Kung Fu Panda cake in a few weeks and the toys I bought to use as toppers are much heavier than I thought. I assume I will need to support the toys with dowels but I've never done that before. What's the easiest way to approach this? Will I need a cake board or something underneath? Thank you in advance for any suggestions. I've tried seaching but I have not found the answer.

8 replies
gscout73 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gscout73 Posted 12 Feb 2011 , 2:52am
post #2 of 9

If I was in your position, since I cannot sculpt my way out of a paper bag, I would try not use items that would sink. If that was not avoidable, I would use a board to support the items but disguise it with icing so it could not be seen. I've done this with a wedding cake topper that was heavy. But I am not commercial so I'm interested in what others suggest. thumbs_up.gif

bohemiagetsajob Posted 12 Feb 2011 , 3:04am
post #3 of 9

Thank you and I feel the same way about my sculpting skills. I had no idea when I ordered them online that they were going to be the size of my hand! lol

ladyt121 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ladyt121 Posted 12 Feb 2011 , 3:13am
post #4 of 9

I WOULD USE A CAKE BOARD OR STYROFORMA ND DECORATE IT PLACE ALL THE TOYS WHERE U WANTS THEM AND SECURE THEM TO THE BOARD THEN USE THE DOWEL ROODS UNDER THE CAKE BOARD OR SYROFOAM IF U DONT HAVE DOWELS U CAN USE STRAWS I SUALLY DO THIS IF SOMETHING IS TO HEAVY FOR MY CAKES IM NOT GOOD AT SCULPTING EITHER AND I USE ALOT OF TOYS IN MY CAKES

Molly2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Molly2 Posted 12 Feb 2011 , 3:25am
post #5 of 9

Any time I put toppers of any kind on my cakes I use cake boards and I like to use bubble straws under these items

Molly