Getting Started With Blowing Sugar

Sugar Work By VaBelle Updated 9 Dec 2013 , 12:17am by ajabakes440

VaBelle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
VaBelle Posted 11 Feb 2011 , 9:41pm
post #1 of 14

My husband is interested in learning how to blow sugar. When I went down to our local cake shop and I asked about it, I was very much discouraged and said we'd have to start by buying a $1000 kit. I read a recent post talking about buying cheaper items. Can anyone give me some advice on how to get him started? I've been looking at some websites, but didn't get any ideas.

13 replies
VaBelle Posted 12 Feb 2011 , 1:09pm
post #2 of 14

Nobody has any hints or advice?

Starkie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Starkie Posted 12 Feb 2011 , 1:21pm
post #3 of 14

There is a tutorial on here about blowing sugar bubbles. I have tried it, with no success. Of course I have never worked with sugar before, either. The tutorial is by Mary Ann (cakesbymaryann.com). I don't know her screen name. I hope this helps! Maybe someone else can give you the link to the tutorial!

ptanyer Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ptanyer Posted 12 Feb 2011 , 1:31pm
post #4 of 14

I think that blowing sugar is a wonderful and mysterious technique that can be equated with blowing glass. I suggest that you and DH Google the subject and read and research the topic. I found a multitude of links when I typed in "blowing sugar" in Yahoo. Here is one of the links:
http://spinningsugar.wordpress.com/2007/09/15/blowing-and-sculpting-sugar/. Unless you know someone who can teach it, I think it will be trial and error like other cake decorating skills.

I wish you luck in learning how to do this and look forward to seeing the first pieces on CC thumbs_up.gif

Put me on your list of people that will be wanting to see your work icon_biggrin.gif

Pam

ptanyer Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ptanyer Posted 12 Feb 2011 , 1:39pm
post #5 of 14

Go to the forums tab on CC,
click on search,
type in sugar bubbles,