Edible Ink Printers

Business By Ange1mom Updated 11 Feb 2011 , 10:11pm by tiggy2

Ange1mom Posted 11 Feb 2011 , 6:56pm
post #1 of 9

I am just getting started with my home based business and am wanting to purchase an edible ink printer.

I realize I need to buy the "ink" separate from the printer. My question is what is the least expensive option I can go with that will be a good starter printer? Suggested model numbers GREATLY appreciated.

I need to take into account the cost of the printer AND the replacement costs of the "inks". I don't need an all in one...just a printer. My other printer can scan, save etc. I have separate editing software so I don't need that either.

Where do y'all suggest I purchase the best priced "inks"? Is KopyKake my only option?

Any and all opinions and suggestions are greatly appreciated. I have looked at all the different options out there and I am confused! Of course, it doesn't take much to confuse me anymore ;o) Thanks in advance!

Angie B in NC

8 replies
bakershusband Posted 11 Feb 2011 , 7:17pm
post #2 of 9

Before you go and buy a printer and ink I would suggest understanding how much you will actually be using it. The reason being is the print heads will dry up and become an added expense if you are not using it enough.
Beyond that I would look at like the Canon PIXMA which I know you can buy edible ink for as well as a few other Canon models.
The other expense that you have along with the ink and printer is the rice paper.

jason_kraft Posted 11 Feb 2011 , 7:58pm
post #3 of 9

We did some research on this a while ago, and we came to the conclusion that edible ink printers and consumables are just too expensive and too much trouble vs. the FBCT method.

Kiddiekakes Posted 11 Feb 2011 , 9:23pm
post #4 of 9