Help! First Time Doing Cornelli Lace

Decorating By Candice0402 Updated 12 Feb 2011 , 3:18pm by anxietyattack

Candice0402 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Candice0402 Posted 9 Feb 2011 , 7:32pm
post #1 of 7

I'm about to do my first wedding cake. I'm fairly new to decorating cakes and this will be my first official cake. Although its for a small wedding and for a friend I"m truly nervous. Anyway, I have a few questions first.
1.) should i let my cake icing crust first before i add the cornelli lace?
2.) What icing should i use? For both the lace and for the cake, does it matter?
3.) I plan on using
http://cakecentral.com/article.....ooth-icing
for the icing recipe. Will this work?
4.) I plan on decorating the cake a day before the wedding being it early morning the next day. Will the icing dry out overnight and become hard and crusty. Do i store it in the refrigerator. Or leave it out.
5.) I plan on making a fondant ribbon for the base of each layer on the cake. Should I use fondant or a real ribbon. Which looks better.
6.) Do i apply the ribbon before i do the lace or after.

Please any suggestions will help
Thanks in advance.

6 replies
Unlimited Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Unlimited Posted 9 Feb 2011 , 9:33pm
post #2 of 7

Have you seen the Wilton link? http://www.wilton.com/technique/Cornelli-Lace (It might be helpful, but the example is poor because the lines touch and they should not, and some lines end. It looks better when small and tight.)
1.) It doesn't matter.
2.) I'd use buttercream for both. (You could use royal icing for the lace, but IMO it isn't necessary unless you're going to paint over it. The icing does matterI wouldn't attempt piping lace on whipped cream.)
3.) The link to the recipe you're planning to use won't open. (I see "Error 404 - doesn't exist".)