One Deep Cake Or 2 Thinner Ones??

Decorating By mrsspider Updated 9 Feb 2011 , 10:38pm by Maria925

mrsspider Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mrsspider Posted 9 Feb 2011 , 10:54am
post #1 of 10

Hi,

I am new to the world of cake decorating, having done a few cakes for friends and family I am now completing a decorating course with a view to starting up a little business form home.

When making a cake would you usually use a deep tin and make one cake which you then cut in half to place jam in the middle or would you bake to seperate thinner cakes and then put these together???

I have so far always made 2 cakes and put them together but wondered whether it gave a nicer finish and easier to ice if you just cut one deep cake.

Many thanks in advance for all answers.

9 replies
sugarandstuff Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sugarandstuff Posted 9 Feb 2011 , 11:33am
post #2 of 10

I use 3 inch commercial pans and tort it - if I use 2 inch pans, I need to only use 1/2 of the 2nd one which always seesm like a waste to me - but then on the other hand, I hate to tort 3 times - hard enough 2 times lol....I'm also kind of confused on this - hope to see some good advice too from other cc'ers.

ChilliPepper Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ChilliPepper Posted 9 Feb 2011 , 12:32pm
post #3 of 10

Hi

I use 3 inch pans, split cakes into 3. This seems to work best for me after trying every which but loose!!!!

CP x

kellyanne1981 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kellyanne1981 Posted 9 Feb 2011 , 1:44pm
post #4 of 10

i do both. if im short on time i split into two tins. but i also do all in ones. i suppose its personal preference. what u feel best doing. good luck n happy baking xx

sokelengl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sokelengl Posted 9 Feb 2011 , 3:09pm
post #5 of 10

I will use 3 inches tin to bake the cake and split into three. It saves your time from lining the extra pans.

Lisa

mmmmmmmmcake1954 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile