New And Full Of Questions!

Business By rachelh37122 Updated 20 Feb 2011 , 4:06am by johnson6ofus

rachelh37122 Posted 9 Feb 2011 , 12:20am
post #1 of 8

ok so i am very new to the cake decorating world. but i want to learn and be awesome at it. i really feel like i've finally found my niche'. my long term goal is to have my own professional cake decorating business out of my home, and of course i want to do it the legal way. i'm currently taking cake decorating classes and am making cakes for family and friends for pretty much any reason just so i can continue to get better.
my questions are:
how did you come to be a cake decorator?
how long did you make cakes before starting your own business/how did you know you were ready for that big step?
how do you know what to charge people for your cakes (i've seen some of the cost matrices on here and they overwhelm me at this point! icon_eek.gif )?
what all is involved in having a legitimate business out of your home?

i live in tennessee, so i know i can legally have a cake business out of my home kitchen. i'm a big "planner" type person, and it's fun to think about one day when i have my very own business. i would love any insight you all could share with me. thank you! icon_smile.gif

7 replies
tryingcake Posted 9 Feb 2011 , 1:10am
post #2 of 8

For me, going into business just happened. Many, many years ago my roommate and I throw a party every four months. Always a theme party. Then friends started asking me to help them throw their special occasion parties. Then their friends started asking me. Next thing I knew I was always busy and it occurred to me I needed to be charging for my time. It was probably another two years before I was completely legal.

I wasn't doing cakes yet, but I was doing the food, decorating and music. I was using the same lady for years for cakes. She passed away and i I decided to give it a try - and here I am.