Talk About Leaving It To The Last Minute - Help!

Decorating By jessyummycakes Updated 13 Feb 2011 , 1:55pm by Lakelover

jessyummycakes Posted 8 Feb 2011 , 12:45am
post #1 of 10

My mother in law in turning 60 this weekend and having a last minute party! I want to do her cake as I really love her and it would be special thing just from me. I have already done the cakes and they are in the freezer. She loves shooping and I was thinking of something like below. But I am worried, I am a novice and all self taught, so i am concerned I couldnt pull it off. Any feedback/suggestions/tips to help and encourage me to pull off what seems like a daunting task to me??? Thanks everyone. icon_smile.gif

http://cakecentral.com/gallery/1783854
trying again! put the right link this time icon_confused.gif

9 replies
EmilyJo9 Posted 8 Feb 2011 , 1:00am
post #2 of 10

You can totally do that! Look up a tutorial for the bow... there are great tutorials on CC and the zebra print is best free hand so you don't need anything special to do it... Good Luck!

DeezTreatz Posted 8 Feb 2011 , 1:01am
post #3 of 10

Hey! I'll try and give your some tips!
If u look at my zebra cake on my second page -
What i've done is rolled out my white fondant - (A little thicker then normal)
I then took black fondant pieces (all different lengths and sizes) and rolled the black fondant inbetween my hands to make long narrow pieces
- I placed the black striples ontop of my white fondant (that was already rolled out) and rolled it into the white fondant - making the zebra print look as one! icon_smile.gif so ez!
(or you can just cut strips of black and place it around your cake - either are very easy!)

For the pink cake on top - just bake a 5-6" cake - stick some dowels in the cake slab (Zebra cake) after the fondant is on - where the round one will be.. You can use your 5" round cake board to measure how far apart (the 5" round board will sit under your 5" cake)

jessyummycakes Posted 8 Feb 2011 , 1:08am