A Little Confused, A Little Frustrated, A Lot Tired!!!

Decorating By lolobell Updated 9 Feb 2011 , 6:39am by Ninky

lolobell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lolobell Posted 7 Feb 2011 , 4:08am
post #1 of 46

Okay...the cake i added today that says Happy Birthday Alexis...was a cake for a good friends daughter. i told her i would just charge her what it cost to make it...i did..$48.90 (yes, i kept track)..so, i charged her $50. apparently, she and her husband were upset that i would charge that much. sigh.

I am a self taught cake decorator who has little knowledge of what i'm really doing so these darn cakes take forever for me to make yet i never charge for my time... i am getting better and faster all the time but people have no idea how much work goes into creating a cake. especially for someone like me.

I know $50 was a lot but we are a one income family...i cannot keep doing cakes for free or cakes for next to nothing anymore..my DH has had it and i am frankly sick of the lectures!!

MY QUESTION IS THIS (lol..finally huh?)...how does one know exactly how to price cakes/cupcakes/cookies? i want to finally make a price list so i don't have to keep guessing and tallying and decided what to charge...any help or advice would be appreciated and thanks so much for listening.

45 replies
jason_kraft Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jason_kraft Posted 7 Feb 2011 , 4:21am
post #2 of 46

A good guideline for pricing any product is to calculate your total cost and add a 20-30% profit margin. Your total cost includes the ingredients and packaging, labor (the number of hours it took to make the product * a reasonable hourly wage), and overhead (rent, insurance, utilities, etc. on a per-product basis).

To add up your costs, you can use anything from a pen and paper to an Excel workbook to cake boss software.