Where Do I Start

Decorating By Aricandy Updated 5 Feb 2011 , 7:06am by CWR41

Aricandy Posted 4 Feb 2011 , 5:38am
post #1 of 11

Hi girls, I am new here, and totally clueless. I am a mom who loves to bake. And lately I have been reading about cakes and decoratng cakes.

My daughter' s birthday is in June an I will love to make a special cake for her. But there are so many kinds of decorations, fillings, frosting, glaze, fondant, that I really don't know what to do. What would taste better, what would look better and so on.

Also I want to start practicing by baking my hubby a cake for Valentine's day. Any advice would be much appreciated.

10 replies
Rainyvv Posted 4 Feb 2011 , 5:48am
post #2 of 11

I am a newbie as well. For cake my favorite is plain vanilla cake (3 layers) 1 filling cream cheese the other strawberry. Everyone likes it. For decoration look at my picutes the white, pink, and purple cake is the first one i did. Easy and looks good IMO

Sorelle Posted 4 Feb 2011 , 6:05am
post #3 of 11

There are several great recipes here on CC. It is good to start practicing now if you want a great looking cake in June. I offered to make any and everybody's birthday cake when I first started.

I've only been doing cakes for a little over a year. It's amazing how much one can learn in that amount of time. I googled a lot of recipes and tested them for taste and carvablity. Some cakes can't hold up to being carved and will just fall apart.

Keep baking and keep asking questions. Be sure to search the forums for for answers, most question have already been answered there.
Good Luck, and I'll be watching for your photos icon_smile.gif

andreamen1 Posted 4 Feb 2011 , 6:07am
post #4 of 11

Welcome, you can start by taking a class at your local craft store either Michaels or Jo-Ann also you will be able to find all your basic supplies their. HTH icon_biggrin.gif

cake_architect Posted 4 Feb 2011 , 7:13am
post #5 of 11