Practical Cake (For School)

Decorating By cakegirl418 Updated 4 Feb 2011 , 12:26am by cakegirl418

cakegirl418 Posted 3 Feb 2011 , 11:02pm
post #1 of 3

Ok, so i'm a sophomore at Johnson and Wales Universityicon_biggrin.gif...and i'm currently in the advanced cakes class. For my final "test" i guess you could say is i have to design a 2 tier (6" and 9", each 4 layers)...and i have some ideas but i just need help to figure out what sounds good. I'll say what i have so far...the over all theme is princess, so pink and girly..

For cake i wanted to do alternating layers of strawberry/vanilla & lemon/orange chiffon cake, but i don't know if that sounds a bit much.. of course it will be mostly strawberry, and then i was thinking more lemon for like a pink lemonade kinda deal. and im gonna add a bit of food color to deepen the color contrast.

It's going to be iced in swiss butter cream, and here's where the design comes in... i think i want white fondant on both tiers. The bottom tier i want to do a quilting effect with little pink flowers in some of the corners(got the inspiration from a picture on here). then the top tier i wanted to do either stripes in various widths and shades of pink. OR do cornelli lace OR do some piped scroll work. all in pink.

On the top im going to make a gum paste tiara, air brush it a pearl color. and have 6 roses(im thinking marzipan, if i have time then MAYBEEE pulled sugar roses.)..in the center of the tiara or working around the cake...then some pink cord at the bases.

now to me all of that just sounds too busy. i am keeping the tiara, quilting, and i HAVE to have 6 roses. and i want the cord...so i guess should i do anything with the top tier? or just leave it white?..