What Have You Finally Mastered?

Decorating By hsmomma Updated 3 Feb 2011 , 8:56pm by cake_architect

hsmomma Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hsmomma Posted 3 Feb 2011 , 7:54pm
post #1 of 9

Seems like when I was starting out...smoothing buttercream was a difficult task for me. I just looked back at my cakes (and noticed a comment) and realized...oh my gosh...it isn't an issue anymore. When in the heck did that happen? Seriously, it use to be my least favorite thing now, I can do it in my sleep.

What have you mastered that use to trouble you?

8 replies
metria Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
metria Posted 3 Feb 2011 , 8:20pm
post #2 of 9

i'm just a hobbyist, but making my own fondant and modeling chocolate! i've gotten to the point where i've tried several recipes and figured out what works best for me. now if i can just figure out what the heck i'm doing with gumpaste ...

SleeplessBaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SleeplessBaker Posted 3 Feb 2011 , 8:26pm
post #3 of 9

I have only been doing this for about 7 months. But I would have to say making MMF. I am truely my own worst critic and I feel I need much improvment in many areas before I feel that I am close to mastering them.

Coral3 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Coral3 Posted 3 Feb 2011 , 8:39pm
post #4 of 9

I wouldn't say I've 'mastered' it, but I can see my fondant modelling improving. I still find human figures nearly impossible to get just right, but critters are getting easier. (I still couldnt pipe a basic shell border to save myself though! LOL Im a lost cause in the piping area!)

Tclanton Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Tclanton Posted 3 Feb 2011 , 8:49pm
post #5 of 9