Mini Cakes In A Week! Fondant Over Whipped Cream?? Help!

Decorating By micaelasmami Updated 7 Feb 2011 , 1:25pm by Jennifer353

micaelasmami Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
micaelasmami Posted 3 Feb 2011 , 3:18am
post #1 of 15

Hi, I have someone who wants 50 mini cakes for a birthday party she is throwing in a week. she wants dulce de leche cakes - but I am wondering if they can be covered in fondant because they are covered in whipped cream...
Btw- I have NEVER done mini cakes before. Any tips, suggestions, comments are WELCOME!!!! thanks! icon_eek.gif

14 replies
BlakesCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BlakesCakes Posted 3 Feb 2011 , 3:35am
post #2 of 15

Too much water & air in whipped cream and lots of liquid in dulce de leche...I see deflated icing & liquified fondant.

Sorry.
Rae

cakeandpartygirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakeandpartygirl Posted 3 Feb 2011 , 3:56am
post #3 of 15

Mini cakes are a pain to do so make sure you charge well for them!! Make sure the cakes are chilled well before icing and if you didn't have patience before you started... well let's just say that you'll either learn it or you will say that you will never do them again. icon_smile.gif

Crazboutcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Crazboutcakes Posted 3 Feb 2011 , 4:12am
post #4 of 15

The fondat will not hold up under the whipped cream, I tried it once whe I first stated baking and all my fondant flowers melted and got sticky gooo and ran to the bottom of my cake icon_sad.gif it was very sad and I had to redo my cake. Luckily it was only one cake! Mini cakes would scare me! good luck.

step0nmi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
step0nmi Posted 3 Feb 2011 , 4:21am
post #5 of 15

mini cakes are a lot of work...and I believe a lot of people don't charge accordingly because they think "oh, their smaller". what everyone else has said...whipped cream is too unstable to use under fondant icon_sad.gif
sorry

sillywabbitz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile