Gritty Buttercream

Baking By kraga Updated 17 Feb 2011 , 4:06pm by love2makecakes

kraga Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kraga Posted 3 Feb 2011 , 1:28am
post #1 of 11

I am new to cake baking and my son wants me to bake his bithday cake. But my buttercream has a gritty texture. Please is there any thing that I can do to make it taste smooth?

10 replies
sweetpea223 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetpea223 Posted 3 Feb 2011 , 1:52am
post #2 of 11

what type of buttercream did you make?

kraga Posted 3 Feb 2011 , 2:18pm
post #3 of 11

Its a regular buttercream recipe consisting of both butter and shortening.

Chasey Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Chasey Posted 3 Feb 2011 , 2:39pm
post #4 of 11

Regular buttercream meaning:

powdered sugar
water or milk
real butter
vegetable shortening
flavoring

And that's all? The only gritty culprit I would think would be lumps in the powdered sugar, potentially. I'm not sure!

I used Dream Whip once in some buttercream and it was gritty the first day and the 2nd day when I whipped it just prior to use, it was smooth.

Did you add anything that needed to dissolve?

matthewkyrankelly Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
matthewkyrankelly Posted 3 Feb 2011 , 2:43pm
post #5 of 11

Beat it longer until the grit is gone.

MamaKarrie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MamaKarrie Posted 3 Feb 2011 , 3:08pm
post #6 of 11

Did you sift your powdered sugar? Not sure... does it help to sift it twice? Good luck... I'm sure it will be wonderful!

racechick311x Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
racechick311x Posted 3 Feb 2011 , 3:38pm
post #7 of 11

I find some brand of sugars seem to be gritty, Wal-Mart brand has been gritty for me but Kroger and Schnucks store brands are my favorite

TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 3 Feb 2011 , 4:26pm
post #8 of 11

Did you use a name brand powder sugar or a store brand? Name brands will always be pure cane and you shouldn't have any issues there.