Cupcake Swirl And Icing Questions

Baking By staceyr4 Updated 1 Feb 2011 , 5:00pm by imagenthatnj

staceyr4 Posted 1 Feb 2011 , 4:34pm
post #1 of 4

I am an uber recreational cupcake baker looking for a couple of helpful tips.

I like the look of a 1M swirl, but rounded, such as the 1A tip. Is the technique the same for both? Do you swirl from the outside in, or dollop in the middle and work around it? Obviously, practice makes perfect, but I just want some other's opinions, too!

What is the best type of icing to use? I have, in the past, only used canned frosting. I want to try making my own to get a better consistency that won't limp and fall flat. Do I want one that will crust, or will Wilton's buttercream work fine?

Lastly, when using dairy in the icing, does it have to be refrigerated afterwards? Since I've never used homemade icing, I have no idea! I want to be clear on refrigeration rules before I try it. For example, if I make cupcakes with a buttercream frosting, after they are decorated do they have to be refrigerated before serving? Is there an icing that works well with the swirl I am after that doesn't have to be refrigerated?

3 replies
MAMAWOF4 Posted 1 Feb 2011 , 4:52pm
post #2 of 4

I am fairly new also, but I believe I can help. For the swirl - if you start from the outside, you get a swirl with a peak at the center. If you start from the inside, you get a rose type swirl like is used on cupcake bouqets (look at my pics for example). Either way is acceptable, just depends on the result you want.

To tell the honest truth about frosting, I have gotten lazy and have bought the Wilton Decorator Frosting in the big tub. I find that if you add 1/2 tsp vanilla and 1/2 tsp butter flavor, it tastes pretty good and the texture is consistent from batch to batch. If you want to make your own, use the Wilton Buttercream (or add meringue powder to your favorite recipe)