Suggestions For Cake Decorating Books??

Decorating By LJohn43 Updated 31 Jan 2011 , 11:29pm by soledad

LJohn43 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LJohn43 Posted 31 Jan 2011 , 9:42pm
post #1 of 8

Hi! Does anyone have any suggestions for favorite Cake Decorating books? There are so many different ones out there and they all have so many mixed reviews, it's overwhelming!!

I am new to cake decorating and self-taught from this website and youtube, and would like to expand my learning materials to include books! Please let me know of any suggestions or favorites that y'all have!!

Thanks!!! icon_smile.gif

7 replies
TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 31 Jan 2011 , 9:55pm
post #2 of 8

The thing about books is that they are subjective. Some love some because they involve a certain medium they enjoy, like fondant or flowers.

I would start with checking out your local library and seeing what they have to offer. That way you can sneak peek before you buy. I also suggest going to a book store, like Barns and Nobles. There are many books I bought because people raved about them, that while I thought they may have been good books, just weren't what I wanted or needed.

Other than the fun of looking through cake books, I really don't use them that often when it comes to making or doing cakes. Because you can find so much information , cake pictures and how tos on the internet now a days, a book has to be really something for me to want to buy it.

zespri Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
zespri Posted 31 Jan 2011 , 10:01pm
post #3 of 8

what sort of decorating do you see yourself doing? Kids cakes? Wedding? Character cakes? It depends on your style, really.

For kids character cakes:
Maisie Parrish does very detailed instructions in all her books covering modelling figures on childrens character cakes, she rocks.