Back To Basics : The Incredible Sinking Cupcake

Baking By chilz822 Updated 1 Feb 2011 , 8:17am by Chef_Stef

chilz822 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chilz822 Posted 30 Jan 2011 , 8:10pm
post #1 of 5

OK, I've been using wasc and doctored mixes for 2 years now... I wanted to try a scratch recipe.
Here's the culprit... and even a 'for dummies' video to go along with it as well as a reference to the woman herself, Rose Levy B and made with Martha's endoresemtn.. can't go wrong, you'd think, right? WRONG-O! icon_confused.gif
http://www.marthastewart.com/recipe/billys-vanilla-vanilla-cupcakes

OMG, these things smell to-die-for while cookie, the batter was super easy to make and the video and recipe were super simple to follow (aside from conflicting measurements of baking powder).

My cratercakes are disasterous... unless I decide that I meant for them to look that way and just fill in the pit with some sort of filling! lol

Help, help!

4 replies
sccandwbfan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sccandwbfan Posted 31 Jan 2011 , 5:14pm
post #2 of 5

I had that happen to me and I was already planning on filling them. I plucked the center out with my cupcake corer and filled and replaced the core. That helps, but I have found several thing that people tell me to do to make that tops dome:

Bake at 375 instead of 350
Preheat to 400 and then turn to 350 when you put them in
Add flour and baking powder

I haven't tried any of these yet but I hope someone more experienced can answer your question. icon_smile.gif

Christy

chilz822 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chilz822 Posted 1 Feb 2011 , 4:32am
post #3 of 5

Thanks for the reply and suggestions! My problem was not with them not doming... they actually sank in the middle to about halfway down inside the cake... and there was cooked cake all over the top of the pan. Like they overflowed then sank... if that makes sense.