Simple Question....please Help!

Decorating By rachelh37122 Updated 28 Jan 2011 , 2:55pm by rachelh37122

rachelh37122 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rachelh37122 Posted 27 Jan 2011 , 3:45pm
post #1 of 11

ok so i'm very new to this cake decorating business, but i've found that i absolutely love it! my question: if you're making a sheet cake and another cake out of a shaped pan and you want to put the shaped cake on top of the sheet cake, when do you frost what cake? should i frost the sheet cake first and then put the undecorated shaped cake on top of that and THEN frost the shaped cake? i'm wanting to make a monkey cake and have it laying on top of a sheet cake. im just afraid i'll get my icing colors messed up-any helpful hints would be much appreciated! thanks!

10 replies
bakencake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bakencake Posted 27 Jan 2011 , 3:55pm
post #2 of 11

frost each one individually. then stack them.

deah Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
deah Posted 27 Jan 2011 , 4:00pm
post #3 of 11

You may already know this but you will need to have a cake board under your shaped cake. Cut a piece of wax or parchment paper the same size as your cake board and place that on top of your sheet cake where the shaped cake will sit. Then place your shaped cake on the paper. This trick will help you place the cake where you want it and when you lift off the cake board while serving lift off the icing on the sheet cake.

Lcubed82 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lcubed82 Posted 27 Jan 2011 , 4:00pm
post #4 of 11

I would frost each cake separately. As with a stacked cake, I would have each cake all decorated except for borders, and any details that cross from one layer to the next. I would probably even support that upper cake with bubble straws when putting it on top.

KJ62798 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KJ62798 Posted 27 Jan 2011 , 4:01pm
post #5 of 11