Sending Cake To Iraq

Baking By leafO Updated 27 Jan 2011 , 5:06pm by Mb20fan

leafO Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leafO Posted 26 Jan 2011 , 2:03pm
post #1 of 14

What is the best way to send cupcakes to my brother in Iraq? I was thinking of maybe baking them in mason jars but I've never done it before. How long do they last when baked and sealed in the jar? Any tips or tricks for baking in a jar and shipping far away? Thanks in advance!

13 replies
leily Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leily Posted 26 Jan 2011 , 2:08pm
post #2 of 14

personally i wouldn't bake in the jars, but you can slide one in. If you do a search of the forums for "cupcake jar" i know i've seen previous topics on cupcakes in jars.

scp1127 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
scp1127 Posted 27 Jan 2011 , 3:36am
post #3 of 14

I use a food saver. Put un-iced cupcakes in bag and take air out but don't smash. Put icing in a piping bag marked where it needs to be cut. Send a note with instructions on how to frost them.

leafO Posted 27 Jan 2011 , 4:05am
post #4 of 14

oooo...that's a great idea to use a food saver, I wish I had one

scp1127 Posted 27 Jan 2011 , 10:44am
post #5 of 14

It will pay for itself many times over. We never have freezer burn, cheeses are perfect forever, cooked ahead meals that are frozen are perfect, cookie dough is frozen for later(personal use), and the overseas mailing will save you enough over time to pay for it. All of my Christmas food mailings arrived perfectly. I keep all of my fondant in it too.

scp1127 Posted 27 Jan 2011 , 10:45am
post #6 of 14

It will pay for itself many times over. We never have freezer burn, cheeses are perfect forever, cooked ahead meals that are frozen are perfect, cookie dough is frozen for later(personal use), and the overseas mailing will save you enough over time to pay for it. All of my Christmas food mailings arrived perfectly. I keep all of my fondant in it too.

leafO Posted 27 Jan 2011 , 4:14pm
post #7 of 14