Legal Question

Decorating By kkswmmr114 Updated 27 Jan 2011 , 2:35pm by Kristie925

kkswmmr114 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kkswmmr114 Posted 25 Jan 2011 , 7:38pm
post #1 of 11

I am a teacher in Texas and I decorate cakes as a hobby. I do cakes for friends and family but lately I have been doing more and more cakes for fellow teachers. There is no where in our area (extremely secluded small Texas town. Think 45 minutes to the nearest Wal-Mart that is in Kansas...) that does cakes so there is a real need for it. Anyways, I don't charge above cost but I usually get a large tip so I do make some profit. Whatever I make goes right into buying the supplies for the next cake or a new cake toy.

My question is... I have been asked to donate a coupon for a free cake for a March of Dimes auction. They want me to make a free cake for the highest bidder. Will this get me in trouble since I'm not a liscensed bakery?? Everyone says I should charge more for my cakes and they don't seem to get that I could get into serious trouble since I don't actually own a business. I would really like to do this, March of Dimes is my favorite charity, but I am worried I am going to get into trouble...

10 replies
scp1127 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
scp1127 Posted 25 Jan 2011 , 7:52pm
post #2 of 11

Ask your health dept what is required to donate cakes. Mine said to stay away from age groups that are more sensitive (young and old), and to add a disclaimer that this was baked in an unlicensed home kitchen. But everywhere is different.

vtcake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
vtcake Posted 25 Jan 2011 , 9:56pm
post #3 of 11

People all over the world bring or donate cakes to events. No one makes them get inspected beforehand.

I say donate it as a private individual, not as a business.

pattycakesnj Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pattycakesnj Posted 25 Jan 2011 , 10:06pm
post #4 of 11