Sesame Street Cake - Fbct Or Colorflow

Decorating By apesusi Updated 22 Jan 2011 , 5:13pm by Sangriacupcake

apesusi Posted 21 Jan 2011 , 1:37pm
post #1 of 5

I've seen lots of cakes like this one in the gallery, so I know some of you know how to do it!!

For the characters on the cake would you do a FBCT or ColorFlow? Or neither? I don't want to do fondant on this cake, just buttercream.

I've never done either a FBCT or ColorFlow, so it's my first time. Does the FBCT soften up like regular buttercream after it thaws? And does the ColorFlow stay hard?

I guess with a FBCT they wouldn't be flat against the cake since they freeze flat and the cake is round, huh? hmmm....,400&um=1&itbs=1&iact=hc&vpx=117&vpy=69&dur=4146&hovh=194&hovw=259&tx=167&ty=149&oei=Roo5TdLEO4SksQOp_tyOAw&esq=1&page=1&ndsp=24&ved=1t:429,r:16,s:0&biw=1366&bih=653

4 replies
TexasSugar Posted 21 Jan 2011 , 10:12pm
post #2 of 5

To me those actually look piped onto the cake. Look at how the eyes are, you can see the piping marks. Plus I like how elmo has a little bit of texture for fur on his face.

You can pipe them on there and then use a damp paint brush to smooth the icing out to get the flatter/smooth look. You could also viva it.

Sangriacupcake Posted 21 Jan 2011 , 10:57pm
post #3 of 5

I think Texas might be right...they look piped onto the cake.

I often do fbct for "background" that I wanted to be fairly smooth, then piped on details for added depth and texture. But my fbct have never liked being applied to the side of a round cake...!

To clarify: I add the details after the fbct is applied to the cake and allowed to come to room temp.

apesusi Posted 22 Jan 2011 , 3:40pm
post #4 of 5

Well, darn it! That's not good! LOL I can't pipe that for the life of me!!

Do you think a FBCT or a RIT would work for the side of the cake? Or am I asking for trouble?

I could probably pipe it if I had an outline on the cake. I wonder if I could somehow stencil the characters onto the cake....