Icing - Question

Decorating By donviper Updated 26 Jan 2011 , 4:23am by FancyPantsBaker

donviper Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
donviper Posted 21 Jan 2011 , 2:07am
post #1 of 13

Hello everyone, I am kind of new to baking and new to custom cakes. I've submitted a few on here, but I have a lot more on my facebook page.

This question may be kind of hard to ask, but I have to ask it.....because maybe some of you can give me a starting point for recipes......

What kind of icing do most bakeries use?

I don't know how to describe the flavor of an icing from an old bakery from my childhood, the bakery has been closed for almost 15 years now and I have never had a cake since, that tasted so good (the icing).

The name of the bakery was MAGGIOS, located in Pottstown, Pennsylvania.

The other day at work, our boss purchased a cake from another local bakery from the other side of town, and the icing was strangely similar! I've eaten a lot of cake since the close of Maggios, and I wanna know what it is LOL. The icing was white, on a chocolate cake. I can remember from when I was a teenager, if you left the cake in a box on the table closed for a few days, the icing would get harder, but not so stiff that it was crunchy like Royal Icing.

I will try making every icing recipe until I find it, it's that important to me.

Any help anyone can lend is greatly appreciated.

So basically, what are some of the most popular "BAKERY" icings?

12 replies
JPMitchell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JPMitchell Posted 21 Jan 2011 , 2:55am
post #2 of 13

It sounds like you are talking about a buttercream icing, but there is many variations... Simple buttercream icing is VERY common among bakeries in the states!!! And it will "crust" after a while and become crunchy but not so hard like royal icing!!!

sccandwbfan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sccandwbfan Posted 21 Jan 2011 , 5:25pm
post #3 of 13