When Hosting A Shower

Lounge By Torts Updated 2 Feb 2011 , 1:59pm by sweetmonkeycheese

Torts Posted 21 Jan 2011 , 12:04am
post #1 of 27

Hello Everyone icon_smile.gif I'm in need of some advice.

I'm a bridesmaid in a good friend's wedding coming up in March. Her maid of honor asked me and three other bridesmaids to host her shower. I've never been to any sort of wedding shower before, so I didn't exactly know what it entailed, but seeing as I am a bridesmaid, I felt like I should help out. I told her "Well, I have a 50 page brief due for school the same day, but I think I could make a cake a few days in advance," (I know I'm no pro decorator, but my friends flatter me and get so excited every time I make a cake). I asked if there was anything else I needed to do; she replied saying once she figured out all the food and flowers and everything, she would send the girls who were hosting "an estimate" of what we need to contribute.

So later she tells me we are expecting 50 people at the shower (good Lord is that normal? I definitely wasn't expecting that many people.) Another one of the bridesmaids said we'd probably have to contribute about $150 each.

Now it's not that I don't want to contribute the money (okay, maybe it's something like that)... but making a custom cake for 50 people... I'll probably end up spending $150 on the cake, after ordering Satin Ice, buying ingredients, making a nice cake board, etc.

So I don't want to be rude, but another $150 on top of that... well it just doesn't exist in my wallet! Is there a tactful way I can mention to the MOH how much I'm spending on the cake and perhaps that be my contribution since it would normally be an expense of a shower? Or perhaps send her an itemized list of expenses and have that added to the grand total of the shower and then we could divide the entire cost of the shower, including the cake amongst us?