First Time With All Buttercream Frosting...

Decorating By allaboutcakeuk Updated 17 Jan 2011 , 11:47pm by cheatize

allaboutcakeuk Posted 17 Jan 2011 , 9:08pm
post #1 of 9

Hi, I'm from the UK and as of yet I have NEVER been asked to do a cake without either royal icing or fondant covering as it just doesn't seem to be what people choose here. However I had the first ever bride today ask if I would create a double depth carrot cake with just buttercream icing. Does anyone have any advice/pointers for someone who has never done an exterior of a cake in smooth buttercream frosting. They want to serve their cake as a pre-ceremony "canape" to their guests. As having never worked with this medium as a decoration apart from to split and fill and crumb coat before fondant I wondered if this is best left alone!!! I'm not a total novice cake decorator but this is not my comfort zone.

Any help/advice would be great. Its an August wedding also so heat etc is a worry.

Thank you icon_smile.gif

8 replies
Kiddiekakes Posted 17 Jan 2011 , 9:36pm
post #2 of 9

I would make a nice soft cream cheese icing since that goes well with carrot cake...I think the recipe has to be soft and plyable also or it tends to rip the cake.I use the WBH house BC recipe and add a brick or 2 of softened cream cheese.This icing is a soft whipped bakery icing and is easy to smooth.

AnnieCahill Posted 17 Jan 2011 , 9:42pm
post #3 of 9

I would use a recipe with at least SOME shortening. I think over there it's called Trex...not positive about that though. You can use IndyDebi's icing recipe (which uses Dream Whip-I think over your way it's called Bird's Dream or something-it's a powdered whipped topping mix), but hers uses strictly shortening and no butter. It is a good recipe and holds up well in the heat. Here's a link:

Another quick note about Indy's BC recipe, if you use it don't put the cake in the fridge or it will never crust over.

Hope this helps!

icer101 Posted 17 Jan 2011 , 10:18pm