Decoration Creativity

Decorating By KMKakes Updated 18 Jan 2011 , 9:24pm by KMKakes

KMKakes Posted 17 Jan 2011 , 7:20pm
post #1 of 5

Being that I am a newbie to cake decorating (more of a hobbyist), 1. where do you get your inspiration for cakes? 2. also when a person ask for something that is very popular at the moment like for example peace sign cakes or zebra stripped cakes, how do you create different creative takes to make a cake original for the next person? I love to decorate and love looking at cake decorating books, yet I would love to learn how to become more creative with my decorating. (I hope this doesn't seem stupid...)

4 replies
cylstrial Posted 17 Jan 2011 , 7:28pm
post #2 of 5

A lot of people get inspiration from Cake Central, from magazines, books, wedding websites, from cake and cookie blogs and so on.

Just try to do something to change the cake or cookie. Change the color, or take a bow off, add a flower, change the border, etc. =o) Good luck!

Tclanton Posted 17 Jan 2011 , 7:54pm
post #3 of 5

Mainly I look here and I have a couple friends that are very helpful when I hit a road block.

What I have found is that even though my design may be similar to someone else's on here - it will always be different.

You will find a way to make it different. For me, the longer I do this the more creative I get. Odd how it works, but it does.

Good Luck!

simplysouthern Posted 17 Jan 2011 , 7:54pm
post #4 of 5