Can I Start Making Fondant Shapes 2 Weeks In Advance Or...

Decorating By kbnickel Updated 18 Jan 2011 , 4:16am by leafO

kbnickel Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kbnickel Posted 17 Jan 2011 , 5:07pm
post #1 of 9

I am making a fondant cake for February 6th, 2011 and I am wondering how early I can start making the fondant shapes that are going onto the cake? I am new to cake making and so I am not sure if I can start making the letters & shapes a week or two before the party.

Can I make them a couple weeks in advance or only a few days?

I don't want them to crack - is there a trick to keeping them from drying out and cracking before I get them on the cake?

Also storage suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance for any help & suggestions!

Karin icon_smile.gif

8 replies
Kiddiekakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kiddiekakes Posted 17 Jan 2011 , 5:17pm
post #2 of 9

I would start now..It isn't gonna hurt having it done a week or so before...They are gonna dry somewhat but shouldn't crack.Most decoraters do the decorations weeks in advance because they get so busy they otherwise would not have time.

Tclanton Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Tclanton Posted 17 Jan 2011 , 5:32pm
post #3 of 9

I always "try" to start ahead of time - doesnt always work. Just remember to place them as you want them on your cake. If it will stand on the cake - let it dry standing. I have a cake due Saturday that will have a few horses on it, and plan to start tonight.

Good luck!

kbnickel Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kbnickel Posted 17 Jan 2011 , 5:32pm
post #4 of 9

Thanks so much for the quick response! Any suggestions on how to store them for the 2 weeks before I put the whole thing together? Thanks so much again!

Kiddiekakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kiddiekakes Posted 17 Jan 2011 , 5:42pm
post #5 of 9

I jsut store all my decorations out at room temp.We are dry here though so it might vary from parts of the country which are humid.