How To Deal With Competitors

Decorating By graciesj Updated 20 Jan 2011 , 10:38pm by HaydenSC

graciesj Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
graciesj Posted 16 Jan 2011 , 8:35pm
post #1 of 24

I've been making cakes for other people now for 6 months and where I'm from there's a lot of cake bakers. I know I have to be good in order to survive and I'm getting there. I'm having the time of my life creating beautiful pieces of art for people.
The only thing I'm struggling with is having to deal with other local bakers. They want me to share info on "how to" and I'm not about to share especially when I've spent $$$$$$ and hours/days/weeks/ with trial and error truing to find what works for me.
How do /I deal with them?

23 replies
cakediva78 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakediva78 Posted 16 Jan 2011 , 8:57pm
post #2 of 24

Just tell them, "if i tell ya, i'll have to kill ya" lol

bobwonderbuns Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bobwonderbuns Posted 16 Jan 2011 , 9:09pm
post #3 of 24

Where in Michigan are you? If you are close enough, tell them to join Michigan ICES and they will answer all your questions. icon_biggrin.gif

playingwithsugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
playingwithsugar Posted 16 Jan 2011 , 9:44pm
post #4 of 24

Two words -

Trade Secret.

Theresa icon_smile.gif

cakeandpartygirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakeandpartygirl Posted 16 Jan 2011 , 9:48pm
post #5 of 24

Direct them to cake central.

Buttercream_warrior Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Buttercream_warrior Posted 16 Jan 2011 , 9:55pm
post #6 of 24

lol..ancient family secret! those are my lines!

icingimages Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
icingimages Posted 16 Jan 2011 , 11:15pm
post #7 of 24

Start teaching.... Then you can earn money for what you have learned. They eventually will learn it from somewhere, might as well be you and you might as well profit from it!!!

graciesj Posted 17 Jan 2011 , 1:45pm
post #8 of 24

[quote="playingwithsugar"]Two words -