Does Anyone Else Dislike Sheet Cakes?

Decorating By ConfectionsCC Updated 16 Jan 2011 , 9:02pm by Kiddiekakes

ConfectionsCC Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ConfectionsCC Posted 15 Jan 2011 , 3:33pm
post #1 of 23

Im sorry, maybe its just because I am new to doing them, but sheet cakes were not nice to me this weekend! LOL I do not feel that I am able to express my creativity with them, and they do not yield that "High end" boutique cake look I am going for for my business. I do not think I will do many sheet cakes in the future. I feel for as much work as I put into them, I did not feel like I got paid for it. It cost me a lot to make them, they sucked up all my BC I made for the week! Not to mention, I can't charge much for them, the FIRST THING that came out of my neighbors mouth when he asked how much, "Did you know Walmart sells them for $27?" icon_eek.gificon_confused.gif Well then go to walmart if you want a walmart sheet cake sheesh!! I did not get into decorating to do sheet cakes, my goals for my business is to provide people with specialty cakes you can't get at ANY local bakery. If that means less business for me because people love sheet cakes, so be it. I would rather work with people who want something different and special and can appreciate the artistry behind these beautiful cakes! Sorry for the long vent, just the cakes were mean to me so my feelings are still a little hurt hahah!! Does anyone else feel this way? I have pictures in my gallery of the cakes I did if you are curious to about the cakes Im mad at icon_razz.gif

22 replies
bobwonderbuns Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bobwonderbuns Posted 15 Jan 2011 , 3:40pm
post #2 of 23

I feel your pain!! It's a never-ending battle to educate the public on quality vs. quantity. I have a meeting with bride next week who insists on "a really small wedding cake and sheet cakes in the back." I went round and round with her and I'm dreading the face to face. icon_confused.gif