Do I Need Dowels And Cake Boards For This Cake?

Decorating By Cakekiasan Updated 15 Feb 2011 , 10:16pm by Cakekiasan

Cakekiasan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cakekiasan Posted 13 Jan 2011 , 6:04pm
post #1 of 12

Hello oh-wise-CC-forumites!

I am a proud new member of CC as of yesterday and already need your help.
I am new to cake baking, but very enthusiastic and optimistic indeed, so even though I have used fondant only twice in my life, I am attempting a Barrel cake for my boyfriend's birthday! Yes, I must be mad, and it will probably look more like a giant heap, but let's humor me for a second icon_biggrin.gif

The best part is that I have never stacked, or carved a cake before!

So I am pretty sure you'll be seeing me in the forums a lot... I apologise for that in advance icon_smile.gif
It might help to think of me as your nagging but well-meaning little sister.

But for now, stupid question number 1:

As all my 5 stacked cakes will be the same circumference, do i need dowel rods and cake boards, or are those only necessary when stacking different size cakes?

I am confused as to how I will be able to carve the cake if needing to gently saw through a dowel rod! But I don't want a squished bottom cake layer either...

11 replies
brett9008 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
brett9008 Posted 13 Jan 2011 , 6:26pm
post #2 of 12

You definately need dowels and boards. If not all cakes will sink down into one another because of the weight or 5 tiers....

metria Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
metria Posted 13 Jan 2011 , 6:28pm
post #3 of 12

could you elaborate on the size of your cakes? what dimensions are you looking for?

pastryqueen9 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pastryqueen9 Posted 13 Jan 2011 , 6:30pm
post #4 of 12

Welcome Cakekiasan!