Copyrights?

Decorating By bellaudreycakes Updated 14 Jan 2011 , 8:27pm by Cheriepie

bellaudreycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bellaudreycakes Posted 13 Jan 2011 , 5:16pm
post #1 of 19

I know this topic has probably been brought up alot but I just want to make sure I understand the rules. As a home/hobby baker I would do BCT all the time with Bratz girls, Mickey mouse etc, also do characters in fondant, but legally if I were to open a bakery I would not be able to do that? It seems to me alot of bakeries do this, what happens if they get caught? Who would catch them??? Also does this mean the same for football teams and logos?

18 replies
brincess_b Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
brincess_b Posted 13 Jan 2011 , 5:40pm
post #2 of 19

you can not sell anything that is copyrighted by someone else - like brats etc.
lots of people do do it, and sell them. lots dont get caught. some do - then it usually a case of fines. and dont be fooled, disney will destroy you to protect their image! it also applies to team logos too.
you can write to the holder of the copright and they can allow you to use the image, usually as a one off.
xx

genevieveyum Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
genevieveyum Posted 13 Jan 2011 , 5:55pm
post #3 of 19

Believe me- it's like speeding. You're not likely to get caught, but when you do, the fines are outrageous!!!

Cheriepie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cheriepie Posted 13 Jan 2011 , 7:01pm
post #4 of 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by jschilt1

I know this topic has probably been brought up alot but I just want to make sure I understand the rules. As a home/hobby baker I would do BCT all the time with Bratz girls, Mickey mouse etc, also do characters in fondant, but legally if I were to open a bakery I would not be able to do that? It seems to me alot of bakeries do this, what happens if they get caught? Who would catch them??? Also does this mean the same for football teams and logos?