Need Some Serious Advice... And Honesty!!!!

Decorating By bellaudreycakes Updated 13 Jan 2011 , 6:14pm by costumeczar

bellaudreycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bellaudreycakes Posted 13 Jan 2011 , 3:30am
post #1 of 15

I have been doing cakes on the side as a hobby for about 3 years, I finally am feeling as my techniques are up to par to open my own bakery. Problem I am having is I have always made my cakes from DH mixes and homemade frosting, usually BC, and have had nothing but great reviews from people, saying that its the best cake ever. Now I have never tried to bake a cake from scratch, just because it is so easy to do it with boxed mixes and like I said before everyone seems to like it. My question is, are there other bakeries that do this or should I start practicing some scratch cakes. I just hate to fix something thats not broken. Thanks for any input.

14 replies
cakinallday Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakinallday Posted 13 Jan 2011 , 3:41am
post #2 of 15

The bakery I get some of my boxes from uses the same mix and adds other ingredients to it. Like u said, if it aint broke don't fix it....... or do a taste test between box and scratch and let the majority be the cake you use.

If people keep coming then it's clear somebody likes box mix icon_biggrin.gif

LoveMeSomeCake615 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LoveMeSomeCake615 Posted 13 Jan 2011 , 4:08am
post #3 of 15

Everybody's different on this one, but I agree with the PP. If people like your mix cakes, stick with that! We use both mixes and scratch recipes, it just depends on the cake flavor. We have had nothing but "Oh my gosh, best cake EVER" responses, both with mixes and our scratch cakes.

leily Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leily Posted 13 Jan 2011 , 4:16am
post #4 of 15