Bakery/italian/sprinkle Butter Cookies?

Baking By catherinejanuary Updated 17 Nov 2014 , 1:09am by Renee-Petro

catherinejanuary Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
catherinejanuary Posted 9 Jan 2011 , 3:16am
post #1 of 33

Hello all!

Butter cookies have me completely obsessed! I am a good home baker, and cookies are my specialty, but I can't find a recipe that really emulates the butter cookies I have gotten at bakeries during my life. I want to make ones like these:

or these:

but I can never get the same flavor or the same dry, crumbly texture. I know there are some professional bakers here-- would any of you divulge the secret to making these? Are they actually done with shortening and not butter? Put me out of my misery if it really is just a mix that I couldn't buy anyways!

I've caught onto the flavor emulsion thing and I have a bottle of Princess flavoring that I'm going to try but would creme bouquet be better?

All the recipes I've found on the internet are just combinations of flour, (icing) sugar and butter, some have hard-boiled egg yolk, some have a regular egg, some have cream of tartar, some have baking soda, but I've tried these and they don't have the right "bakery" texture. Does anyone have a recipe to suggest?

Thank you!

32 replies
playingwithsugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
playingwithsugar Posted 9 Jan 2011 , 4:16am
post #2 of 33

My sentiments exactly! I was hoping to see that recipe in the Cake Boss book, but it's not there. How could he not include this staple from Italian bakeries?

And then, I sent an e-mail to someone I met a couple of years ago, whose father owns 3 Italian bakeries in NYC, asking for their recipe. Their cookies are da bomb, because if you tin them for about two weeks, and let them mature, the floury taste and crumbly texture goes away and all that's left is the butter/sugar/vanilla taste with a perfect consistency. I guess I hit a sore note, because I never heard from him.