Love To Bake...hate The Customers....

Business By Solecito Updated 7 Jan 2011 , 8:17pm by ConfectionsCC

Solecito Posted 5 Jan 2011 , 8:14pm
post #1 of 10

First of all, this post is just for blowing of steam....

Little background, I've been selling cakes for almost 11 years, out of my home. I do everything form purchasing to baking to web desing...everything. I do consultations but only for weddings and quinceaneras. And always with an appoinment.

Latley I've had new customers that call me and ask for a cake because they tasted it at so elses party. i direct them to my website and they call back but they still don't have an idea of what they want, and to make it worse they are asking someone else at their house without even blocking the phone and I'm listening to their argueing. Or I have some customers that show up without an appoinment and get mad when I don't see them because I'm up to my elbows in sugar and flour. Or they make the appointment and show up with 4-5 people more, wich they don't fit in my office space.
For security issues I tried the appoinments at a coffe shop, and people don't like the idea. They feel unconfortable.
Sometimes I feel they don't treat me with respect because I'm just the cake lady and they dont see me as a bussiness. Sorry for complaining but I want to keep on baking and I need the money (I need it to keep buying nice cake toys...jaja), and I'd like to know if you guys suffer from any of this and what do you do...

9 replies
cakedoff Posted 5 Jan 2011 , 8:41pm
post #2 of 10

You poor thing! I can honestly say that the only time I've had someone show up unannounced was a man came to my home (not my shop) to pay for a cake for his lady friend without her knowing and as a surprise for her. I didn't mind that one! thumbs_up.gif

jason_kraft Posted 5 Jan 2011 , 9:02pm
post #3 of 10