Wilton Cake Decorating Classes

Decorating By ronronneuse Updated 5 Jan 2011 , 11:34am by pezadoodle

ronronneuse Posted 3 Jan 2011 , 11:02pm
post #1 of 10

Hi everyone, I'm an amateur with no training whatsoever, and though I've made a few decent looking cakes, I'd like to backtrack and get a little bit of technique under my belt. So my husband gave me a gift card for Michael's for xmas to do their Wilton classes. What are your thoughts on this decorating course? It seems like that's the only thing that all the craft stores around here offer, but when I've called to get a little info, I dunno, I'm not very impressed. Example: they tell me that I need all this gear on the first day, and that when everyone shows up, they get the list, and then spend the first 20 minutes of class shopping (with a discount, of course!). I have a fair amount of stuff already, so I convince someone to read me the list of "necessary" items. It's like a page and a half long, and has things like "a one-gallon ziplock bag" and "an apron" (like I'm going to buy an apron right there at the Michaels??!!), and 6 flat sugar cookies. And you have to get the Wilton 'beginner's decorating kit'--"what's that"?" I send the resentful employee off to find out what's in it. I have 3/4 of the contents of said kit sitting in my kitchen, and am not about to buy it. I don't know--am I complaining about nothing? What can people tell me about the content of the courses? Because right now it just seems like a vehicle for making money for the craft store and for hocking Wilton products. Aside from going to pastry school, which is not an option, does anyone have any better ideas than this? Thanks for listening.
SJ

9 replies
Ellie1985 Posted 3 Jan 2011 , 11:23pm
post #2 of 10