Cake Recipes

Baking By rubberduckie Updated 6 Jan 2011 , 3:11pm by Jennifer353

rubberduckie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rubberduckie Posted 3 Jan 2011 , 8:07pm
post #1 of 8

I have recently started making cakes for family and friends and I always use Lindy Smith's Madeira cake or Chocolate cake as it lasts for 2wks, however, I've used it so many times now that I would like to try something different.

Can anyone else recommend recipes for cakes that would last a few days with fondant on, as it takes me a few days to finish all the fondant decorations.

Thanks for any help, as I'm a novice when it comes to the technical side of baking.

7 replies
playingwithsugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
playingwithsugar Posted 3 Jan 2011 , 11:09pm
post #2 of 8

What types of decorations are you talking about? Gumpaste or fondant flowers and figurines need time to dry, anyway, so why not make them first?

Theresa icon_smile.gif

lutie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lutie Posted 3 Jan 2011 , 11:24pm
post #3 of 8

rubberduckie, I usually spend many days making different fondant, gum paste flowers, and Royal Icing filigree to put on my cakes...they get better with age! The cakes are usually made ahead of time and frozen...so, the only "last minute" item is the buttercream and/or fondant.

Your cakes should not stay out for an extended period of time. It is my preference to ice my cakes the day/night before they are due...yes, I already have the decorations completed and ready...makes it so simple and less stressful.

I prefer to use the WASC recipe, as it holds up well to stacking. I have a favorite chocolate recipe that uses ganache, etc., and the WASC recipe can be used for most other flavors...