I'm A Newbie With A Few Questions

Decorating By saussi27 Updated 2 Jan 2011 , 4:33am by Corrie76

saussi27 Posted 2 Jan 2011 , 3:34am
post #1 of 6

Hello everyone!

I'm new to cake decorating and everything I've learned thus far has been self taught, trial and error. However, and I know this will sound crazy, but I own nothing. Oh wait...I do have a rolling pin. icon_biggrin.gif Everything I've used, I've borrowed from a friend of mine who has done cakes for years. I'm to the point now where I'm ready to purchase my own items. What do you all suggest for someone just starting out to purchase immediately? What items are must haves and go to's?

Also, as far as fondant, gumpaste, etc etc, how much do you keep on hand?

I'm ecstatic that I found this site and I look forward to learning from the best of the best.

Happy decorating!
Andrea

5 replies
Karen421 Posted 2 Jan 2011 , 3:42am
post #2 of 6

Welcome!!!!

Pans, magic line, if you can, would be at the top of my list! icon_biggrin.gif

Evoir Posted 2 Jan 2011 , 4:23am
post #3 of 6

Hey there...Welcome Andrea!

IMO, the things you need to get going is a good basic kit:

* A set of gumpaste tools, buy a cheap set, because if you end up doing this on a more full time basis you will want to buy better ones later on, and there is no need spending loads of money up front.
* A good board for rolling and cutting GP
* Edible glue
* A non-stick mat for rolling fondant
* Small rolling pin(s) in silicon
* A floppy mat for covering rolled GP while you work on it
* About 1 - 2 pounds of GP to have on hand.
* Maybe 2 - 4 lbs of fondant to start with (a simple cake)
* A set of basic concentrated gel colours (get primary colours first)
* Cornstarch
* Powdered sugar
* Crisco or similar
* Vodka or similar for thinning colours etc.
* Cake cardboards and cake boards for when you have a cake
* PLENTY OF SPACE!!
* Containers to store odds and ends and supplies
* Small paintbrushes
* An exacto knife